Etienne Perret receives 2020 Prix Espoir IMT – French Academy of Science

Etienne Perret and Jayakrishnan M P present their work at the 10th Annual Interdisciplinary Symposium of Sree Ayyappa College
21 septembre 2020
2020 IMT Award – Interviews and articles
13 mars 2021

Etienne Perret receives 2020 Prix Espoir IMT – French Academy of Science

Etienne Perret is the recipient of the 2020 Prix Espoir awarded by the IMT and the French Academy of Science, which honours early career scientists for their outstanding scientific contributions to tackle issues faced by the industry or companies for a more sustainable economy at European level in three different fields, among which the industry’s digital transformation.

This award recognises Dr. Perret’s work in the field of chipless RF identification for which he is also an ERC Consolidator Grant holder with the SCATTERER ID project. More precisely, it puts forward his research on a characterization method based on the principle of reflectometry and the use of resonant components that he set up in the laboratory.

Since 2006, he is an Associate Professor of electrical engineering at the Univ. Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble INP – LCIS, France. He is also a Technical Program Committee member of the IEEE International Conference on RFID and his work has already been recognised throughout the years with the French Innovative Techniques for the Environment Award in 2013, the SEE/IEEE Leon Brillouin Award for his outstanding achievement in the identification of an object in an unknown environment using a chipless label or tag in 2016 and last but not least, the 2019 Outstanding Young Engineer Award from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S).

Due to the current sanitary situation, Dr. Perret will receive the award on 1 December 2020 at 18:00 CET during a ceremony that will be broadcasted online.

For further details, visit: